OU Products on Amazon: Books | Clothing | Collectibles | Shoes and Accessories | More

Blocked Kicks ▪ Oklahoma

This list is based on official publications, box scores, and game recaps, but there were some gaps and inconsistencies in those sources. Blocks from incomplete seasons are shaded in gray. Let me know if you find a discrepancy or know of any more prior to 1997 (there are no blocked extra points that were returned by OU for two points from 1988 - when the rule was added - to 1996).

All Plays | Punts | Extra Points | Field Goals | Scoring Plays

All Plays

Since 1997 sorted by most recent game/play first | Notes

Play Player (Scorer) Season   Opponent Result
Punt Peyton Bowen (Team safety) 2023 H Iowa State W 50-20
Punt Peyton Bowen 2023 H SMU W 28-11
XP Isaiah Coe (Pat Fields DXP) 2021 H Nebraska W 23-16
FG Perrion Winfrey 2020 N #22 Texas W 53-45 (4OT)
Punt David Ugwoegbu  
Punt Brayden Willis (Austin Stogner TD) 2019 H West Virginia W 52-14
XP Amani Bledsoe 2018 N #9 Texas W 39-27
Punt Brayden Willis (Curtis Bolton TD) 2018 H Kansas W 55-40
Punt Lee Morris (Curtis Bolton TD) 2018 H Florida Atlantic W 63-14
FG Devante Bond 2015 H Tulsa W 52-38
XP Devante Bond 2014 N #18 Clemson L 40-6
FG Chuka Ndulue  
XP Jordan Phillips (Zack Sanchez DXP) 2014 A #25 TCU L 37-33
XP Matt Dimon 2014 H Louisiana Tech W 48-16
FG Zack Sanchez  
XP Jordan Wade (Aaron Colvin DXP) 2013 A Kansas W 34-19
Punt Matt Dimon (Team safety)  
XP Jordan Wade 2013 N Texas L 36-20
Punt Corey Nelson (Team safety) 2010 A Texas A&M L 33-19
Punt Javon Harris (Team safety) 2010 H Colorado W 43-10
XP Auston English 2009 H Kansas State W 42-30
XP Adrian Taylor  
Punt Marcus Trice 2009 H Idaho State W 64-0
Punt Lendy Holmes 2008 H Cincinnati W 52-26
FG Darien Williams 2007 N #11 West Virginia L 48-28
Punt Jason Carter (Team safety) 2006 A #23 Missouri W 26-10
Punt Jason Carter 2006 H Washington W 37-20
Punt Jacob Gutierrez 2005 H Kansas State W 43-21
FG Brodney Pool 2004 H Oregon W 31-7
Punt Jason Carter 2003 N #2 LSU L 21-14
Punt Brandon Shelby 2003 H Baylor W 41-3
XP Brodney Pool 2003 A Colorado W 34-20
FG Andre Woolfolk 2002 N #7 Washington State W 34-14
Punt Brandon Shelby 2002 N #12 Colorado W 29-7
Punt Brandon Shelby (Will Peoples TD) 2002 H #24 Texas Tech W 60-15
FG Andre Woolfolk 2002 H #13 Colorado W 27-11
Punt Derrick Strait (Terrance Simms TD) 2002 H #9 Iowa State W 49-3
Punt Terrance Simms 2002 H South Florida W 31-14
FG Andre Woolfolk 2002 H Alabama W 37-27
FG Andre Woolfolk 2001 N #5 Texas W 14-3
XP Rocky Calmus 2001 H #11 Kansas State W 38-37
Punt Josh Norman 2000 N #8 Kansas State W 27-24
Punt Antwone Savage 2000 A Baylor W 56-7
Punt Josh Norman 2000 H #1 Nebraska W 31-14
FG William Bartee 1999 H #13 Texas A&M W 51-6
FG Ramon Richardson 1999 H Indiana State W 49-0
Punt Jeremy Wilson-Guest  
FG Ontei Jones (Rocky Bright TD) 1998 H Texas Tech W 20-17
Punt Chris Hammons (Seth Littrell TD) 1998 A Baylor W 28-16
Punt Rocky Calmus 1998 A #20 Missouri L 20-6
XP Rocky Calmus  
FG Corey T. Ivy 1997 A Texas Tech W 32-21
XP Corey Callens 1997 H #14 Kansas State L 26-7
XP Martin Chase (Corey T. Ivy DXP) 1997 A California L 40-36
XP Martin Chase  
FG Corey L. Ivy 1997 H Syracuse W 36-34
Punt Travian Smith (Sedric Jones TD)  
Punt Travian Smith  
Punt Tink Collins (Russell Jones TD) 1991 N #19 Virginia W 48-14
Punt Mike Coats 1991 H North Texas W 40-2
Punt Darrell Songy (Keith Stanberry TD) 1982 H West Virginia L 41-27
FG Bud Hebert (Barry Burget TD) 1977 H Vanderbilt W 25-23
Punt Jimbo Elrod (Steve Dodd TD) 1973 A Oklahoma State W 45-18
Punt Derland Moore (Lucious Selmon TD) 1972 N #10 Texas W 27-0
FG Kenith Pope (Mark Driscoll TD) 1971 A Missouri W 20-3
Punt Eugene Ross (Bob Stephenson TD) 1966 A Kansas W 35-0
Punt Jerry Thompson (Ross Coyle TD) 1958 H Kansas State W 40-6
Punt N/A 1957 N #16 Duke W 48-21
Punt Ed Rowland (Dick Ellis TD) 1952 H Pittsburgh W 49-20
Punt Norman McNabb (Norman McNabb TD) 1946 A Army L 21-7
Punt Merle Dinkins (Merle Dinkins TD) 1944 N TCU W 34-19
Punt Ralph Harris (Team safety) 1940 H Oklahoma State W 29-27
Punt Cecil Shirk (Justin Bowers TD) 1938 H Tulsa W 28-6


  • 2008: I cannot find Lendy Holmes' block vs Cincinnati in a box score, game recap, or video highlights (although there was a failed fake punt). In subsequent game notes, there is a blocked punt for 'Oklahoma Team'. In the 2009 media guide it is shown in his defensive totals, but not in the opponent punting totals.
  • 2004: The postgame notes for the 2023 Iowa State game states "Brandon Shelby, who holds the OU career record with four blocked punts, had two blocks as a sophomore in 2002 and two blocks as a senior in 2004." The 2005 media guide I used for this list only credits Brodney Pool with the lone block in the Defensive Stats section for 2004. According to other sources the fourth block cannot be found.
  • 2003: In the 2004 media guide, Jason Carter - not Brandon Shelby as reported in the Oklahoman - is credited with the punt block against LSU in the Sugar Bowl in both the player bios and the game recap.
  • 2002: The 2003 media guide shows six team blocks. I have found seven which includes three for Andre Woolfolk who was only attributed with two in the media guide.
  • 1999: I cannot determine the order of the blocks vs Indiana State.
  • 1997: The 1998 media guide says Corey T. Ivy blocked an extra point in the Texas Tech game, but it looks like it was actually a 26-yard field goal attempt according to video highlights.
  • 1937-91: Thanks to @soonerbubba1960 who posted blocked punt touchdown research on Twitter/X in December 2023 and posted blocked field goal touchdown research in January 2024 (only the Pope/Driscoll FG block in 1971 was missing in the database).